you're reading...
Personal

Doctor’s Appointment

Since I decided to be pro-active with my health, I thought of consulting a nutritionist to guide me on the proper diet for my age group. Apparently, I just can’t go for a consultation without a recommendation from another doctor… in this case, an endocrinologist. A what?!?! Sorry but as far as doctors are concerned I’m not really that familiar with what they’re called and what they do. Sure I know what a pediatrician does, or a cardiologist, or a neurologist. But I’m guessing this is because they’re pretty common already. So what I did was search through the internet for the meaning of the word and apparently an endocrinologist diagnose diseases that affect your glands. They know how to treat conditions that are often complex and involve many systems within your body. Your primary care doctor refers you to an endocrinologist when you have a problem with your endocrine system. Well that made sense.

Next was to find one credited by my healthcare provider. Since this is the first time I’ll be consulting with an endocrinologist I just asked for a recommendation from the healthcare representative. Finally got my schedule… it’s on July 15 (Friday) between 8-9am. Yehey?!?!

*SIGH* Actually, NOT yehey! I’m pretty nervous really. I’m not a big fan of going to doctors. Aside from the annual medical physical exams required by the company I work for, I really refrain from visiting doctors. The most is when I visit my dermatologist whenever my skin asthma attacks. That’s it. So purposefully visiting a doctor (that’s not a dermatologist) is absolutely never wracking for me!!! I’m not scared of them as professionals, what I am is scared that I might find out something’s wrong with me. Which is actually the point of going to a doctor in the first place, to find out if there’s something wrong with my health and try to fix it as soon as possible. Arggg… I can do this! *wobbly, weak knees*

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Today Is…

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Count Me In!

  • 55,555 hits

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
