you're reading...
Personal, Weddings

The Ring… (the happy kind)

The day started out pretty ordinary. It was pretty windy/overcast and it looked like rain would start falling at any moment. Luckily we only had light, scattered rains throughout the day but it’s still pretty gloomy overall.

Lunch time…

Boyfie: “What time ka uuwi later? (What time will you go home later?)”

Me: “4:30pm”

Boyfie: “Ok”

I remember wanting to get home early after work. I wanted to sleep early that night since I have a doctor’s appointment the next day and I was pretty sure I’ll be going home late then.

The day dragged on and finally it was 4pm, just a few more minutes and I can finally go home. Then boyfie called…

Boyfie: “Sabay na tayo umuwi, nagdala ako ng car. Uwi ako ng 5:30. (Let’s go home at the same time, I brought the car. I’ll go home by 5:30.)”

Me: “Ok. Una na ko kumain habang inaantay kita? (Ok. I’ll eat dinner while waiting for you?)”

Boyfie: “Sabay na tayo sa Burgos Circle mag-dinner. Meron ako voucher. (We’ll eat dinner together at Burgos Circle. I have a voucher we can use.)”

Well then, that’s fine with me too.

It’s 5:30pm and we’re finally on our way to Burgos Circle. We had dinner at Bistro Casanova and I have to say I was quite impressed. The place was pretty small, I think only 20-25 people can comfortably fit there. 30 people would be stretching it. But the ambiance was great and so is their food. Pretty expensive for everyday dining but I won’t hesitate to go there to celebrate special occasions. We had pizza that night, Quatro Stagioni and Four Cheese pizza, and I loved both of them!

After dinner, we were stuffed to bursting so we decided to talk a short walk around the area. There was a light rain shower that night but not enough to prevent us from having a short stroll. In the center of the rotonda is  “The Trees” steel sculpture by Reynato Paz Contreras. Boyfie seemed intrigued by it so we walked to the area and he invited me to join him there. I looked up at the dome formed by the intertwined branches and leaves and when I looked down I was surprised when he presented me with a heart-shaped box.

Ok here’s the part where most girls would be panicking/excited/jumping up and down with joy/crying/etc… but me being me… the first thing I said was…

Me: “Ano to? Monthsery gift? Pero next week pa yun. (What is this? A gift for our monthsery? But it’s still next week.)”

I opened the box and saw that it’s a freakin’ ring!!! And there’s my boyfie asking my hand in marriage (he didn’t kneel on the ground anymore since it was a bit muddy from the rain). Yeah, dense huh, couldn’t even connect the heart-shaped box and marriage proposal right away. Anyway, before giving my answer I asked him if he’s sure (I’m a born skeptic ok!) and if his parents knew about it already. The answer is yes and no… in that order. So what else could I say but “YES!”

So there, I’m engaged. And here’s the ring to prove it:

The Ring...

So from this day forward, I’ll be pretty busy with wedding preparations and most posts will be about that. Sadly, my 365 picture project will experience a premature end now… no more posts under this category after July 2011. But I’ll surely posts pictures taken while preparing for our spacial day (ocular visits, food tasting, fittings, parties, etc) so I hope to have you guys accompany me on this journey as well. 🙂

Discussion

9 thoughts on “The Ring… (the happy kind)

  1. WoW!! Congrats sis!!! 😀

    And sad that you’re ending the project but siempre mas important ang wedding. I love blogs that detail their wedding preps so I’ll be sure to check in on your blog pa din parati. I already love your latest post about the ivory and burgundy motif inspirations for your wedding. 🙂 Good luck and Congrats again!

    Posted by joanne | August 16, 2011, 2:15 am
    • Thanks sis! We have more than 1 year lead time for the preps pero since we don’t plan on getting a coordinator kami lahat gagawa. I think the earlier the better. 🙂

      Posted by silentbleeding | August 16, 2011, 7:54 am
      • Yup sis, the earlier the better nga. Ako din nagulat na ngayon sa dami pala ng dapat i-prepare for a wedding. I love reading about this sis kasi siguro because I never got to do it (civil wedding lang kami) and I think it remains one of my dreams to get married pa din in a church. Pero malabo na. haha.. I think gusto ko lang siya kasi gusto lang din ma-experience ang wedding preps. Haha :p

        Posted by joanne | August 16, 2011, 11:48 pm
  2. congrats sis…. good luck sa wedding prep..

    Posted by princessposh | August 17, 2011, 6:51 am
  3. Congratulations! That must have been a fantastic moment. 😀

    Posted by Faith | August 20, 2011, 5:55 pm
  4. congratulations! i’m ivy from the W@Wie group. love your notes about wedding preps. 🙂

    will be following!

    Posted by Ivy | January 2, 2012, 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

Today Is…

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Count Me In!

  • 53,955 hits

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
