you're reading...
Updates, Weddings

Update: Food Tasting at Sonya’s Garden

Since our reception will be at Sonya’s Garden, we’re entitled to a free food tasting session good for two. Our moms wanted to come too, so they joined us and we just had to pay for both of them (additional Php 795 each). We scheduled our food tasting during one of the long weekends we had, it was a Saturday and although we anticipated that there’ll be heavy traffic going to Tagaytay, it was quite the opposite. We got there at around 11AM and I looked for Ms. Gerlie (who’s been assisting us since day 1). Since it’s the moms’ first time there, h2b gave a short tour of the place first while the staff prepares our food.

Lunch started at around 11:30AM and lasted till around 2PM. Suffice to say, we were soooooo full we can barely walk!

Lunch venue was at Sunflower which was right beside the parking area:

Sunflower

Sunflower

Entrance to the dining area

Entrance to the dining area

Our menu was Filipino Set F with additional order of Pumpkin soup:

Crab and Corn Soup

Crab and Corn Soup

Pumpkin soup

Pumpkin soup (additional for food tasting only)

Beef Pochero w/ Eggplant salad sauce

Beef Pochero w/ Eggplant salad sauce

Chicken Relleno

Chicken Relleno (with sweet chili sauce)

Honey Garlic Spareribs

Honey Garlic Spareribs

Buttered Veggies

Buttered Veggies

Bottomless fresh dalandan juice

Bottomless fresh dalandan juice

Dessert: sweetened sweet potato (sweet kamote)

Dessert: sweetened sweet potato (sweet kamote)

Dessert: banana rolls with langka

Dessert: banana rolls with langka

Chocolate cake with tarragon tea

Chocolate cake with tarragon tea

The verdict? We liked their food yes, but there are some we didn’t really appreciate that much.

For the soup, h2b and my mom both liked the pumpkin soup. Me and FMIL (future mother-in-law) liked the crab and corn.

Sadly, the Beef Pochero w/ Eggplant salad sauce was not one of our favorites. It was a bit rainy and cold during our visit and since this is a beef dish, it quickly got cold and I personally didn’t want to eat it anymore.

We all equally liked the Chicken Relleno and Honey Garlic Spareribs. Both dishes are a complete success in our books. Personally, I’m not a big fan of relleno but I was able to eat two slices of their chicken relleno. I thought it was that good. The spareribs have got to be my favorite, it’s got the right amount of sweetness in it and I was able to finish one big slice!

For the Buttered Veggies, I have to say it wasn’t memorable. The veggies did taste good and I’d bet that they’re pretty fresh too (unlike the ones we sometimes end up getting from the super market or palengke) but sadly, it didn’t really blow me away.

The dalandan juice was a real treat. It wasn’t too sour and very much refreshing. I think I enjoyed it too much since I actually had my glass refilled 3 times!

Finally, the sweetened sweet potato and banana rolls with langka both deserve two thumbs up! Maybe I’m biased here, I do love desserts (or anything sweet for that matter) but the ones they served are really good. The sweetened sweet potato have the right amount of sweetness and stickiness and it wasn’t tough at all. The banana rolls with langka is real yummy too and the lumpia wrapper is not thick unlike how some banana rolls tend to be.

Lastly, the chocolate cake and tarragon tea is the perfect ending to our very wonderful lunch. I’ve heard a lot of praises for their chocolate cake and, I have to say that they are really quite justified. It’s moist and sweet and sinful… I ended up eating my cake and that of h2b’s too! As for the tarragon tea, this is the first time I tried one and I’m now wondering how I ever missed drinking this all my life! The tarragon leaves were not the dried up ones, it was as fresh as they come. It smelled soooooooo good I actually wanted to bathe in tarragon infused waters so I can smell that way all day!

The decision? We ended up getting the Crab & Corn soup, Kare-kare, Fish Fillet, Chicken Relleno/Gallantina and Tropical Spareribs. All the above mentioned desserts will be served so we don’t need to worry about choosing only one or two… I’d be real sad if I had to do that!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Update: Food Tasting at Sonya’s Garden

  1. sis, eat all you can pa rin if Filipino dishes yung pinili?

    Posted by sherville7 | January 17, 2013, 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Today Is…

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Count Me In!

  • 54,870 hits

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
