you're reading...
F1 Hotel Manila, Staycation

Staycation: F1 Hotel Manila

It’s the day after our first ever staycation and I have to say, as early as now, that we will most definitely be doing this again! It’s the most fun we can have without the hassle of travelling for hours (in the case of staying out of town) plus the convenience of everything we love in the city… malls, parks, groceries, night life, etc.

Hotel check-in started at 2pm but, after a very stressful day in the office and attending my team’s “team building” activity, we ended up getting there at a little past 9pm. Good thing I already called in advance to inform them that we will be a lot late and they promised that they’ll hold the room until we get there. I wonder,  since the room is already fully paid for our 3D/2N stay, can they still opt to “give” our room to another client? Hmmmm…

Anyway, once we got there, I learned that the hotel lobby/check-in is actually on the 5th floor. I got into the elevator and got a little bit confused on how to work the buttons. Ended up pushing the wrong one at first but I eventually got it right. The 5th floor was simply but beautifully decorated and the front-desk staff were all very accommodating. After a few minutes and filling up the guest form, we were on our way to our suite on the 12th floor. Yes, you guys read that right… our Deluxe King room received a complimentary upgrade to their City Suite! *YEY!*

By this time it’s 10pm, we’re both tired and sticky (it is still officially summer here) and all we wanted to do was get some much deserved rest. But of course before diving under the covers, I just had to take some photos:

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (T&B)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (T&B)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (T&B)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (T&B)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (T&B)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (T&B)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (Bedroom)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (Bedroom)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (Bedroom)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (Bedroom)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (Living Area)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (Living Area)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (Living Area)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (Living Area)

F1 Hotel Manila - City Suite (Living Area)

F1 Hotel Manila – City Suite (Living Area)

Room amenities (as I remember them) includes the following: complementary coffee/tea set, complementary bottled water, complete set of toiletries (I requested for another set so we didn’t have to share everything), 1 bathrobe, 1 pair of slippers, 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, digital clock with alarm, and wifi/broadband internet. The room had 2 TV sets, 2 split-type aircon, and 1 mini ref (stocked with different colas).

Unfortunately I had to go to work that Friday so I wasn’t really able to maximize the “stay at home” feel but hubby spent the whole day inside the room. I mean he literally did not go out the whole day! He even told me that housekeeping/hotel staff called to ask if he was ok or if he needed anything. Apparently, the “do not disturb” sign was lit the whole day and I guess they were wondering if there was something wrong. I personally found it as being professional on the hotel staff’s part and a definite plus point from me.

So feedback time…

Getting to the hotel from Makati was so easy it would practically be a sin to get lost. My first impression of the place? It didn’t look much. I’m not sure if construction is 100% done or if there are still some things still in progress, but it kind of gave me the feel work is still in progress. The elevator ride required a bit of maneuvering on my part to operate. I fumbled 2-3 times just trying to get to our floor. We are given access cards to tap on the electronic sensor (found on the elevator panel’s bottom) while simultaneously pressing your floor number but for the life of me I can’t seem to do that properly! I though I was just such a clumsy or slow person (depending on where you look at it) until my elevator companion during one of those moments commented that a lot of people are having the same difficulty as me. Thank goodness, I thought I was losing it! Ok, enough with the whining part… setting aside those inconvenient details, I really did like the place. It was near establishments I’m familiar with. If I want coffee, Starbucks is just across the street. Same with food, there are a lot of options present, from the hotel’s restaurant to that popular fastfood chain and higher end restaurants a couple of blocks away. If it’s entertainment I want, there are clubs very near the hotel’s vicinity too and transportation won’t be a problem at all since taxis pass by the area quite often too. S&R is just across the street buying chips for that late night movie watching is still very much convenient. There is even a hospital nearby just in case some medical emergency should occur (thank goodness nothing like that happened). Now onto one of the most important part of our stay… food! The options they presented on their breakfast buffet are more than enough to satisfy both me and hubby. Maybe we’re not too picky about our breakfast but I have to say that we would always leave the dining area with very full tummies and satisfied (albeit clogged) hearts. Bacon quickly became our favorite and I’d always get around 5-7 strips together with a serving of omelette, veggies, 1-2 slices of wheat bread, and 1-2 cups of brewed coffee. Not to forget that bowl of fresh fruit for dessert. Those are just the things I ate but there are still a lot more I didn’t even try such as their pares, rice, longganisa, chicken tocino, pancit, cereals, pancakes, donuts, etc… I think you guys got the point already… there were still lots and lots I didn’t try and that’s just for breakfast.

So there… as far as I can tell, our first staycation is a success indeed and we do plan on a repeat but this time, as promised, we’ll try to stay at Dusit Thani Hotel Makati.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Today Is…

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Count Me In!

  • 53,978 hits

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
